Aaron Smith – Pirate? [Part Three: Questions]

We have this picture of Aaron Smith from his narrative The Atrocities of the Pirates.  Smith was the poor victim of pirates, the wimpy man who was bullied into committing various atrocities (including killing other men, albeit pirates), the just man who was unfairly put on trial by his peers.

Then we have the opposing image of Smith as painted by the Times of London articles.  Aaron Smith is an eloquent and influential public speaker – an ability which requires a fair measure of intelligence and confidence.  Aaron Smith is burly (albeit honest looking!), so he’s hardly the small, wimpy character from the narrative.

Even more revealing are his tendencies of:

  • violent outbursts – on two different occasions he viciously assaulted men.
  • disrespect for authority – no fear in court, whether on trial for life or assault.  He received additional fines for his behaviour in/out of the courtroom.
  • being involved in ‘shifty’ business schemes – comparative to ‘loan-sharking’.  Also a potential smuggler.

We have these two diametrically opposed views of Aaron Smith, somewhere in between lies the real Aaron Smith.  I don’t know if he set out to be a pirate.  I don’t know if he took advantage of the opportunity to make some money when he was in the company of the pirates.  I don’t know if he was the victim he claimed to be.

All I have are these various voices speaking out from 140-170 odd years ago.

Who was Aaron Smith?

4 Responses to Aaron Smith – Pirate? [Part Three: Questions]

  1. Hi there I am so delighted I found your site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was searching on Google for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

  2. John Redmond says:

    Hello whoever you are! I am the great great great etc grandson of Aaron Smith. All further info gratefully received.

    Johnvredmond@btinternet.com

  3. Matthew walsh says:

    It appears that mr. Smith was an unfortunate victim of pirates. It future seems that he was intent on impressing them as they had him in their control. Any court confidence likely came after he was victimized by courts with unnecessary prosecutions when young. He seems possessed of roadrage and was in the legal usury business after a tough life. I find him acquitted again!

  4. Matthew walsh says:

    **It Further seems
    Not future

Leave a Reply

