How Shit Is My Job? (part one)

I am really trying to be less negative at work, but it seems to be impossible so long as people keep forcing their own personal dramas into my life.  Don’t want it.  Don’t need it.

Here’s a perfect example of the kind of shit I don’t need.  At work, I’ve sent several emails to two co-workers, both in management.  These two have a terrible track record for responding to emails, and when they do, they leave me with more questions than I had at the onset.  I need timely answers.  Well, I’m not getting them.

This is not an issue limited to me, so a new policy has been put in place.  Send the email once.  If you have to resend, copy this other manager.  If still no answer, copy the owner of the company.  Unbelievable, right?!

I’m kind of nice, when I shouldn’t be.  I don’t escalate the emails to other managers.  I quietly resend.

Today, I took the time to go through my sent mail folder and resend all of the emails to which I have not rec’d a response.  As I pushed the send button I made a friendly bet with a co-worker:

I’ve sent these reminder emails.  Now, you watch.  In response, I will get my own reminder email from one of these guys & this will happen within two hours.

Sure enough – there it is.  And the prick copies the owner!  Okay…so this makes me look bad.  At least that’s what my co-worker is trying to do.

Let’s back-track a little.  I am resending emails that are one week, two weeks old.  I am missing information these guys are supposed to provide.  Quirky decisions are being made.  For instance if we have to assemble X number of finished goods, then they produced X-Y goods for no apparent reason.  One of the emails is wondering when the balance of goods will be completed.  This is critical, time sensitive shit.  It’s also an example as to the subject matter of my inquiries.

The reminder email that came in retort (copying the owner) was originally sent to me Friday afternoon around 4pm.  It was a request to have something done by Wednesday afternoon (today).  Saturday and Sunday constitutes the weekend, at least where I work.  Monday was family day.  I didn’t get to it yesterday, but that’s fine because it’s requested for today.  At noon, halfway through the day, I get this friggin’ reminder.

Needless to say…it was a petty response from a very insecure co-worker.  Like the first thing that went through his mind was – “Oh yeah?!  I’ll show you.”  And he didn’t.  I still met my deadline.

Leave a Reply

